PathMakers To Peace 2015

Brooklyn For Peace was thrilled to honor Amy Goodman, crusading journalist, host, and executive producer of Democracy Now!, as our 2015 PathMaker to Peace. The gala event took place on Thursday, November 12, 2015, at the historic Plymouth Church in Brooklyn Heights.

Amy spoke very personally about her own experiences which have led to her conclusion that grassroots movements are the way to win peace and still the hands of the warmakers.

This year’s honoree:

Amy Goodman is the host and executive producer of Democracy Now!, a national, daily, independent, award-winning news program airing on over 1,300 public television and radio stations worldwide. Time Magazine named Democracy Now! its “Pick of the Podcasts,” along with NBC’s Meet the Press.

The Nieman Foundation for Journalism at Harvard honored Goodman with the 2014 I.F. Stone Medal for Journalistic Independence Lifetime Achievement Award. She is also the first journalist to receive the Right Livelihood Award, widely known as the ‘Alternative Nobel Prize’ for “developing an innovative model of truly independent grassroots political journalism that brings to millions of people the alternative voices that are often excluded by the mainstream media.” She is the first co-recipient of the Park Center for Independent Media’s Izzy Award, named for the great muckraking journalist I.F. Stone. The Independent of London called Amy Goodman and Democracy Now! “an inspiration.”

Goodman has co-authored five New York Times bestsellers. Her latest two, The Silenced Majority: Stories of Uprisings, Occupations, Resistance, and Hope, and Breaking the Sound Barrier, both written with Denis Moynihan, give voice to the many ordinary people standing up to corporate and government power. She co-authored her first three bestsellers with her brother, journalist David Goodman: Standing Up to the Madness: Ordinary Heroes in Extraordinary Times (2008), Static: Government Liars, Media Cheerleaders, and the People Who Fight Back (2006) and The Exception to the Rulers: Exposing Oily Politicians, War Profiteers, and the Media That Love Them (2004). She co-writes a weekly column with Denis Moynihan (also produced as an audio podcast) syndicated by King Features, for which she was recognized in 2007 with the James Aronson Award for Social Justice Reporting.

Goodman has received the American Women in Radio and Television Gracie Award; the Paley Center for Media’s She’s Made It Award; and the Puffin/Nation Prize for Creative Citizenship. Her reporting on East Timor and Nigeria has won numerous awards, including the George Polk Award, Robert F. Kennedy Prize for International Reporting, and the Alfred I. duPont-Columbia Award. She has also received awards from the Associated Press, United Press International, the Corporation for Public Broadcasting, and Project Censored. Goodman received the first ever Communication for Peace Award from the World Association for Christian Communication. She was also honored by the National Council of Teachers of English with the George Orwell Award for Distinguished Contribution to Honesty and Clarity in Public Language.

It was also a night to showcase the role of Brooklyn For Peace, as Brooklyn’s oldest and most active peace and justice organization. BFP Vice Chair Carolyn Rusti Eisenberg, recalled the vital role of the group in the run-up to the recent victory in Congress with the approval of the Iran nuclear treaty. Tireless activism by BFP members was able to push Brooklyn’s Congressional delegation into supporting the Iran agreement—breaking the lockstep support for the pro-Israel lobby, AIPAC, which has been the usual scenario. This led to other Democrats all across the country, following the lead of the Brooklyn House members, thus consolidating the final vote.

Many thanks to all who attended as well as those who could not attend but supported this event in so many ways!

Did you miss it? See it on our YouTube channel
View photographs for the event.
View the PathMakers to Peace 2015 Program.


Thank you to the following for their extra effort to make this event a success!

Ann Fawcett Ambia
Melissa Corbett
George Fiala
Kevin Gunderson
Joe Kopitz

Felipe Martinez
Fran Minichiello
Eleanor Preiss
Plymouth Church
Sarah Sills

Amy Talcott
Bart Tesoriero
Matt Weinstein

Our Sponsors

Thank you to the following for their contributions!

Marilyn Ackerman
Thomas Angotti
Peter V. Arcese, Esq.
Leah Gunn Barrett
Bob Beswick
Christine Bratton
Linnea Capps
Lorraine Cohen
Ken Diamondstone
Steven Flax

Sally Jones
Ernece B. Kelly
Jane Kurinsky
Kathleen Laziza
Cheo H. Leon and
Elias Leon
Nancy & Barry Levy
Susan M. Licht
Martin Needelman
Molly Nolan

Jean Walsh Nolan
Jesse Phillips-Fein and Benin Ford
Kim Phillips-Fein, Greg Vargo, Clara and Jonah Fein-Vargo
Nancy Romer
Nancy Steinson
Deborah Taylor
Jeanne Theoharis
Marilyn Young

Our Advertisers

Thank you for your support!

Allan Eisenberg, Ph.D.
Amorina Pizza
Anti-Militarism Task Force, BFP
Arts and Culture Committee, BFP
Bassetts’ Catering
Black Veterans for Social Justice
Bob Cook, Your PC Guru
Brooklyn Arts Exchange (BAX)
Brooklyn Friends of the People’s World
Brooklyn Historical Society
Brothers Meat Market
Central Brooklyn Independent Democrats (CBID) Central Brooklyn
MLK Commission
Yvette Clarke, Congressperson
Climate Action Committee, BFP
Darfur/Africa Task Force, BFP
Dead Horse Records
Desis Rising Up and Moving (DRUM)
Ken Diamondstone & Joe Kopitz
Diversity Outreach Committee, BFP
Dominique Bravo & Eric Sloan
Flatbush Food Co-op
Fort Greene Peace
Fortune House
Friends of Manuela Dobos
Grizer-Hoffman Family

Heart by Hand
Heights Chateau
Holyland Auto Repair
Hungry Ghost
Iraq Veterans Against the War
Israel-Palestine Committee, BFP
Jews for Racial and Economic Justice (JFREJ)
Key Foods, 369 Flatbush Ave.
Latin America Task Force, BFP
Letitia “Tish” James,
NYC Public Advocate
Lone Wolf Tribe
Long Island Alliance for Peaceful Alternatives
LuAnne’s Wild Ginger All-Asian
Vegan Restaurant
Make the Road New York
Met Foods, 632 Vanderbilt Ave.
Montague Wine & Spirits
Mukti’s Kitchen
Muslim Community Network
No Separate Justice
Nuclear Zero Task Force, BFP
Park Slope United Methodist Church,
Social Action Committee

Peace Action Bay Ridge
Interfaith Peace Coalition
Peace Action New York State
Peace Action Staten Island
Peace and Economic Justice Committee, BFP
Peace and Social Action
Committee of the Brooklyn Monthly Meeting (Quakers)
Physicians for a National Health Program, NYC Metro Chapter
Robert Provenzano, D.D.S.
Rothberg Law
SaveMor Printing
Select Mail
South Slope Auto Repair
The Garden Foodmarket
United Community Centers, Inc. (UCC)
United University Professions (UUP)
UNICEF Committee, BFP
Veris Wealth Partners
War No More on BCAT
War Resisters League
World Can’t Wait
World Fellowship Center
Wyckoff’s Corner Pharmacy
Yvette Clarke, Congressperson